A First Peek at My Mary Poppins and Mole Art Dolls

I hope all of my American followers had a safe and happy fourth! I was able to start some new projects over the long holiday weekend!

The biggest project I’m working on right now is my Mary Poppins art doll. I’ve always loved Mary Poppins – the vain, no-nonsense Queen of Air and Darkness Mary Poppins of P. L. Travers books, not the singing Julie Andrews incarnation – and I’ve often dreamed of creating an art doll of the iconic nanny and her parrot-headed umbrella.

I chose to sculpt my Mary Poppins’ head and hands from Paperclay. The books often describe Mary as looking like “a Dutch doll,” with her shinny black hair, round blue eyes, upturned nose, and pert mouth. By sculpting her features, and even her hair, with Paperclay, I felt like I was able to stay as true as possible to that description.

Mary’s umbrella was another fun challenge. I ended up buying a working doll-sized umbrella, sculpting the parrot head onto the handle, and then painting the entire thing so that the style matched that of the doll.

Right now I’m putting the final touches on Mary Poppins’ outfit – a blue overcoat and skirt, and a black straw hat with a daisy, of course – and she’ll soon be compete and ready to photograph!

The second project I’m working on is based on the characters from “The Wind in the Willows.” I recently bought a beautiful copy of the book with illustrations by Tasha Tudor, which inspired me to create a miniature set of Mole, Ratty, and their riverside picnic. So far, Mole is done, and is stitched from mohair, with tiny handmade clothing and little bitty spectacles!

a miniature cloth doll based on the character of mole from the wind in the willows

I’ll be sharing more photos of Mary Poppins and my “Wind in the Willows” characters, along with the links to purchase them in my Etsy shop, as soon as they are complete!

 

One thought on “A First Peek at My Mary Poppins and Mole Art Dolls

  1. Pingback: My Mary Poppins Art Doll is Ready to Fly Away – The Free Folk

Leave a Reply

