Introducing My New Art Doll, Peter Pan

I have a special Valentine’s Day treat! I’ve been holding onto my Peter Pan and Tinkerbell art dolls for a while now, but I think it’s finally time to introduce them to you. Making art dolls inspired by Peter Pan has been a project that’s very close to my heart – I devoured this book almost weekly at a certain age – and one that I hadn’t wanted to undertake until I was sure that I could get them right. After many, many sketches, and a lot of practice with Paperclay, Peter Pan and Tinkerbell were finally born.

P1030803

Wendy, Wendy, when you are sleeping in your silly bed, you might be flying about with me saying funny things to the stars.

Peter has a large, sculpted Paperclay head with a jointed cloth body. Even his hair is made from Paperclay, with sculpted leaves and red berries tumbling through his auburn curls. Peter’s proportions and wide, curling smile were inspired by drawings of pixies done by Arthur Rackham and Tony Diterlizzi. I loved the way the combination spoke of an exuberant and cunning mischievousness.  I had so much fun painting Peter’s bright green eyes, red cheeks, and many freckles.

P1030822
Detail of Peter’s head

P1030807

After many concept sketches, I decided to give Peter green tights, felt upturned slippers, and a tunic of leaves and mist. Dozens of paper and velvet leaves and seed bead “seeds” cover Peter’s hand-dyed silk tunic, while his slippers are embroidered with silver thread and more leaves and beads.

P1030810
Detail of Peter’s shoes

Peter’s photos turned out even better than I’d dreamed – I was able to set the scene with a blue tablecloth, sparkling painted wooden stars, and the rest of the silk I’d used for his tunic!

P1030817

Tomorrow I’ll share my finished Tinkerbell doll. Both dolls will be available in my Etsy shop on Tuesday the 16th, but feel free to reach out to me with any questions about reserve, layaway, and pricing.

 

One thought on “Introducing My New Art Doll, Peter Pan

Leave a Reply

