Progress on Flora and Fauna

This weekend I took advantage of the snowstorm we’ve had here in Brooklyn to make some progress on Flora and Fauna, my first fully sculpted art dolls.

I’ve sanded them down from the rough sculpts you can see here, and have moved on to painting and sealing! Painting is always my favorite part of doll making – it’s when the doll’s faces are complete that they really start to come alive for me.

P1030660

Flora and Fauna are painted in watercolors and then sealed to protect them. Once sanded and sealed, their light Paperclay bodies are surprisingly strong! For Flora, I went with peach and pink tones, while Fauna is painted in browns and yellows.

P1030662

Next I’ll move on to stringing them, and adding their wigs and clothing. Stay tuned for pictures of the finished dolls!

One thought on “Progress on Flora and Fauna

Leave a Reply

