Neverland Works in Progress – Captain Hook and Tinkerbell

“His eyes were of the blue of the forget-me-not, and of a profound melancholy, save when he was plunging his hook into you, at which time two red spots appeared in them and lit them up horribly.”

Last month I blogged about my new project, a group of dolls based on Barrie’s characters from Peter Pan, and shared a first glimpse of my Peter doll. This month I want to show you some work in progress photos of my Tinkerbell and Hook!

WIP - Tinkerbell
WIP – Tinkerbell

Tinkerbell is “life size;” an all Paperclay doll just six inches high. Tinkerbell is described by Wendy as “lovely,” and yet I wanted to retain some of the rustic English impishness of the fairies and goblins of Victorian fairy tales. Tinkerbell has a sharp face, large feet, and knobby knees and elbows, but when she’s finished, she’ll also have beautiful butterfly wings and wear a long gossamer gown.

WIP - Jas. Hook
WIP – Jas. Hook

Hook was so much fun to design and sculpt! I’ve had an old vintage brass hook thrown in with my art supplies for a very long time, and when I decided to create characters based on Peter Pan, I knew I had finally found a use for it!

Hook’s head and hand are sculpted from Paperclay, and he has a handstitched jointed body. I wanted to give him a classic hooked nose and chin, leering smile, and hooded eyes, and had a lot of fun mixing the perfect shade of “forget-me-not blue” to paint his irises. Of course, I also couldn’t forget the red dot in each of his pupils!

Hook's hook
Hook’s hook

Hook looks quite a bit less dastardly before receiving his wig and mustache, which will be made from long black curls of mohair. When he’s finished, Hook will also wear a coat made of black velvet and red silk, and a large feathered hat.

Stay tuned for a first look at my Wendy doll, and to see all of the finished dolls!

Leave a Reply

