Elizabeth I, Queen of England and Faerie

For the past several weeks, I’ve been working on a very special custom doll for a return customer – Elizabeth I as a fairy queen. As a fellow fan of Elizabeth, Spenser’s “The Faerie Queen,” and Shakespeare, I thought this was such a wonderful and exciting idea!

Elizabeth was the inspiration for Spenser’s faerie queen, Gloriana, a patron of Shakespeare, author of the famous “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” and viewed as pure, ageless, and almost transcendent by her contemporaries, which makes her a perfect fairy queen! She was also strong, brave, and independent, and one of my childhood heroines, so I really enjoyed taking on this project!

IMG_20150901_153255929_HDR
Elizabeth in all her glory!

I had never created a doll from this period before, and loved designing and sewing Elizabeth’s Elizabethan-style gown, ruff, beaded slippers, and embroidered train. Elizabeth wears bright autumn colors, and I tried to incorporated the Tudor rose as much as possible – in the roses she wears in her hair, in the pattern of her velvet gown, and in the beading on her gown and slippers.

Detail of Elizabeth's slippers
Detail of Elizabeth’s slippers

Elizabeth is almost finished, and will soon be on her way to her new home!

2 thoughts on “Elizabeth I, Queen of England and Faerie

Leave a Reply

