Say Hello to Poppy!

After successfully sculpting my first full-size Paperclay art doll, I thought it would be fun to try sculpting a miniature dollhouse doll with the remaining clay. I’ve always been fascinated by miniatures, but have had trouble sewing a miniature doll. Sculpting one was much easier!

Sculpting Poppy's body
Sculpting Poppy’s body
Poppy's body and limbs
Poppy’s body and limbs

Sculpting Poppy’s tiny face and elf ears was the hardest part! After she dried, and I sanded her smooth and jointed her limbs with thin wire and tiny beads. She can sit and raise her arms.

poppy

I painted Poppy with watercolors (I used watercolor pencils for the details), and used dyed Alpaca left over from my larger doll for her hair. Poppy’s tiny dress is made using tea stained linen and lace remnants from my Sonnet doll. Her teensy buttons are made from seed beads.

Poppy fits perfectly in the palm of my hand!
Poppy fits perfectly in the palm of my hand!

Poppy will be available in my Etsy shop very soon, although it may be hard for me to give her up!

miniature paperclay doll

Leave a Reply

