The Wonderland Project

Over the past week, I’ve been having a lot of fun planning for my summer project! This summer I’ll be creating an entire cast of Wonderland characters – a Mad Hatter art doll, Dormouse doll, White Rabbit, and more than one Alice… maybe even more favorite characters if I have time! Over the next few months, I’ll be posting weekly sneak peeks and stories of my inspiration and creative process, building up to a final reveal of all the finished dolls! You’ll be able to see these both here on my blog, and on my facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/thefreefolk. I hope you’ll follow along!

In anticipation of my project, I recently ordered this beautiful pink and gold doll-size tea set from The Queen’s Treasures on Ebay. I was so excited when it came in the mail last week – I can’t wait to set up a mad tea party scene with it!

The little Dormouse from the mad tea party is the first of my series of art dolls that I’ve started working on. He’s very small – he’ll be in scale with the other dolls, and just the right size to sit inside a pink teacup! So far I’ve sewn his white body from soft flannel, and given him a pink felt tail and accents, tiny bead eyes, nose, and teeth, and fishing line whiskers. Here’s your first sneak peak – a work in progress picture of him sitting inside his little teacup!

Leave a Reply

