Making Antique Mason Jar Terrariums

I’ve really been enjoying making terrariums lately! I love how they combine both my love for nature and my love for Victorian antiques and old, forgotten things. A few weekends ago I took a trip to my local flea market, on a treasure hunt for terrarium-making supplies!

I was able to find this pair of antique glass mason jars, which I thought would make beautiful terrariums! I also found the cast iron bird in the picture. I haven’t been able to use him in anything yet, but I think he would be perfect in a larger terrarium!

I was really excited about the blue-tinted mason jar. I’ve seen several blue-tinted jars with the tin lids, but this one actually has a glass lid and the wire handles. When I found a beautiful large textured piece of bark on one of my walks, I knew it was what I wanted to use inside the jar, to build the terrarium around. I added a replica brass skeleton key to one of the wire handles, to add to the antique look. I’ve named this one “The Secret Forest Terrarium”.


For the clear mason jar, I went with more of a nature theme, building the terrarium around a red pine cone and a pair of sticks. I also built the rocks up more in that terrarium, to give it more dimension.


I plan on putting up a tutorial for my mason jar terrariums soon, and will be listing these in my Etsy shop within the next few days.

Leave a Reply

